About Derek

About Me:

Hello, my name is Derek, I was born in 79 (you do the math), I am British although I lived in Spain between the ages of 12 and 25 and at the moment, I am currently living in North California with my lovely wife Vanessa whom I met online.  I am a C5/C6 quadriplegic and have been so since 1995!  My family is quite extensive as my parents divorced and later remarried, both going on to have more children with their new partners which has left me second from the top on a squiggly line of seven.

Hobbies & Interests:

Where to begin?  I do like to read although I don't get around to it as much as I would like, I usually end up listening to the audio book.  I love movies, my head is full of movie trivia!  Boardgames and anything else that stimulates the mind.  Computers!  A lot comes under this one so let's see, I like playing around with graphics programs both the vectorial and the bitmap kind, I like to dabble with basic HTML, Social Networking/chatting, real-time strategy game's as these are usually quite easy to play with my limited movement.  Problem-solving/helping people with computer problems (we all know they have them and it isn't very often I'm confronted with a problem I cannot resolve).  Digital photography, photo repair and photo editing these last two I really enjoy!

Languages (I am fluent in Spanish and looking into taking some Italian), social issues and cultural differences also interest me, something I have picked up on my travels.  Spending time with my wife, my family and my friends (I love a good social barbecue) Cooking is another interest even though I cannot cook myself but it stems from the different countries I have lived in and the different cultures I have been exposed to.  Music, my main choice in music is rock/heavy metal but I will pretty much listen to anything if and when the mood strikes.  I think that about covers things for now.

Some of you may already know me as Tigger and those who don't, well hello there Smile

I'm looking forward to interacting with you all.  I will be mostly writing, sharing my pictures and sharing my artwork/graphic projects on here, feedback is more than welcome!

I think I'm going to end things here for now, I can always come back later can't I?